

## Meeting of the Board of Regents October 19, 2018 Minutes

The fall meeting of the Board of Regents of Mount Allison University was held on Friday, October 19, 2018, beginning at 9:00 a.m. in the Tweedie Hall, Wallace McCain Student Centre.

#### 1. Call to Order

Mr. Outerbridge called the meeting to order.

The following Regents were present: Jean-Paul Boudreau, Carol Chapman, George Cooper, Sarah Crawford, Mark Fedyk, Mark Fraser, Brian Harriman, Barry Kyle, Brian MacLeod, Susan McIsaac, Vicki McKibbon, Emma Miller, Andrew Moreira, Dan Nowlan, Ron Outerbridge (Chair), Jill Rafuse (by telephone), Odette Snow, Peter Winters (by telephone), and Sarah Young.

Regrets were received from Andrew Clark and Cheryl Hodder.

The following non-Regents attended: Jeff Ollerhead, Provost and Vice-President Academic and Research; Kim Meade, Vice-President International and Student Affairs; Robert Inglis, Vice-President Finance and Administration; Gloria Jollymore, Vice-President University Advancement; and Barb MacIntosh, Controller (For agenda item 6, Board Committee reports).

#### 2. Acknowledgement of aboriginal custodianship

Mr. Outerbridge acknowledged the Aboriginal custodianship of the land on which the University is situated.

#### 3. Approval of the Agenda

The agenda was approved as presented.

Mr. Outerbridge welcomed the President as well as new members Emma Miller and Andrew Moreira to their first meeting and advised that this was Carol Chapman's last meeting of the Board of Regents.

#### 4. Approval of Minutes of the Board Meeting of May 15, 2018

#### **Motion B18-16:**

**BE IT RESOLVED** that the minutes of the meeting of the Board of Regents held on May 15, 2018, are approved as circulated.

Moved by Seconded by Motion Carried

# 5. Report from the President Cabinet

Dr. Boudreau said an overview from President's Cabinet was included in the Regents' materials.

Dr. Boudreau highlighted a number of items from Cabinet's reports as follows: engagement activities – leadership and governance; renewal initiatives; internal engagement undertaken – the President's Mount Allison Discover MtA Listening Tour (

long term planning and being more flexible / nimble in how we do our budgeting. Mount Allison needs a 3-5 year strategy plan with a supporting budget model.

The Chair said everyone understands the seriousness of the situation and that it is not a short one year budget issue. It is a strategic issue. He said that consideration has been given to a 2039 Committee, however we have a more pressing 5-year issue and it is a priority at this time. An ad hoc strategic group will be formed to look at this.

The President thanked the Regents for the quality of the discussion and the engagement of Regents.

## 7. Committee Reports

Committee Chairs reported on the work of various committees as follows:

- Academic Affairs, Chair B. MacLeod;
- Audit, Chair V. McKibbon;
- Executive, Chair P. Winters;
- Finance and Administration, Chair S. McIsaac;
- Human Resources, Chair P. Winters;
- Investment, Chair D. Nowlan;
- Nominating and Governance, Chair L. Loewen;
- Property and Facilities, Chair B. Kyle; and
- University Advancement, G. Jollymore spoke on behalf of Chair A. Clark.

The following motions were presented as part of committee reports.

## <u>Audit</u>

Approval of 2017-2018 Audited Financial Statements

Motion B18-17: \_ \_ \_ \_ BE IT RESOLVED that the needs

Approval of Management Discussion and Analysis

Motion B18-19: BE IT RESOLVED

## 3. Chairpersons of Board Committees

(Term – January 1, 2019 – December 31, 2021)

- that Cheryl Hodder be appointed Chair of the Academic Affairs Committee.
- that Peter Winters be appointed Chair of the Human Resources Committee
- that Dan Nowlan be reappointed Chair of the Investment Committee.
- that Brian MacLeod be appointed Chair of the Property and Facilities Committee.
- that Brian Harriman be appointed Chair of Student Affairs Committee.
- that Sarah Crawford be appointed Chair of the University Advancement Committee.

## 4. Members of Board Committees

(Term – January 1, 2019 – December 31, 2020) \*\*(1-year term – January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019)

		<u>Appoint</u>	<u>Reappoint</u>
i.	Academic Affairs Audit Committee		Odette Snow Brian MacLeod**
ii.		Barry Kyle Sarah Young Jill Rafuse	Mike Roberts Brent Spencer
iii.	Finance and Administration	Sarah Crawford Brian Harriman	Cheryl Hodder
iv.	Investment	Andrew Clark	Jane Craighead Dan Murray Richard Price

v. Nominating and Governance

ii. Marjorie Young Bell Faculty Fund

Felix Baerlocher

# **10. Board Comments**

Regents were provided an opportunity to comment

# 11. In Camera Session

The Board moved in camera.

Respectfully submitted, Heather Bembridge Assistant Secretary